Graduate Students Association Excellence in Teaching Award 2013

Please provide information on the nomination form below about a Teaching Assistant who has provided superior instruction: Nomination form


  • The TA must have taught at least one quarter, during Spring 2012, Summer 2012, Fall 2012, or Winter  2013.
  • Former winners of the award and current GSA officers are not eligible.

Important Dates

  • Nomination Deadline: Friday, March 22, 2013 at 5 pm
  • Nominees notified: Monday, March 25, 2013
  • Request for ESCI report due: Friday, April 5, 2013
  • Supporting materials deadline: Friday, April 26th, 2013 at 5 pm  (only electronic submissions will be accepted)
  • GSA Excellence in Teaching Committee meets: April 29th through May 24th, 2013
  • Award recipients notified: May 28th through May 31st, 2013
  • Award recipients will be announced: June 4th, 2013 (during the GSA Assembly Meeting)
  • To nominate please submit by March 22, 2013 at 5 pm: Nomination form

Nominations for this year are now open!! Nomination form

Graduate Students Association Excellence in Teaching Award 2013

Congratulations to all of our winners. This year the GSA Excellence in Teaching Award received over 500 individual nominations for over 150 excellent campus Teaching Assistants and Associates. Special thanks to the members of the Award committee for contributing their time for the review of a multitude of applications.

  • STEM:
    • Nate Emery
    • Cameron Brick
    • Honorable Mention: Hans Mayer
  • Humanities and Fine Arts:
    • Raquel Santana-Paixaio
    • Scott Dirkse
    • Honorable Mention – Aurelie Chevant
  • Social Science:
    • Steven Osuna
    • Malaphone Phommasa
    • Honorable Mention – Kara Otto
  • Teaching Associates:
    • Heather Berg
    • Patrick Mooney
    • Honorable Mention – Kathleen Cole

Graduate Students Association Excellence in Teaching Award 2012

This award recognizes the contributions of graduate students who have shown excellence in their role as a Teaching Assistant in the teaching mission of UC Santa Barbara.

GSA TA Award 2012 
Lauren Copeland
Katherine Kelp-Stebbins
Carly Thomsen
Marisa Weaver

GSA TA Award 2012 Honorable Mention
Kane Anderson
Stuart Gray
Curt Nehrkorn
Nicole Pacino
Peter Romaskiewicz
Check out a heartfelt video of the winners being told of their accomplishment: